One of the dumbest things I’ve ever done…

I know I’m not perfect. I’ve known it for quite some time now. I’ve made lots of mistakes. TONS of mistakes. Some worse than others.  I’d like to share with you proof of my less-than-perfectness and the most recent thing that I’m adding to my list of “One Of the Dumbest Things I’ve Ever Done” list. I’m pretty sure that each of us has one of these lists. Some of ours are just longer than others! ;o)

For a few weeks now, I’ve been receiving what I considered to be very peculiar reviews of my book, Laiden’s Daughter. What boggled my mind was the fact that they said it was a good story but suffered from lack of editing. This was a repeated theme with several of these reviews.

My first instinct was ‘these people are goofy!’ I could not figure why they kept mentioning ‘bad editing’.  I had my book professionally edited. There had been multiple eyes looking at this book. Repeatedly. What on earth were they talking about? I thought, perhaps, they were simply extremely picky people or something happened between by perfect book and their Kindles. (I’m so technologically challenged that I honestly believed this could happen!)

Then I received a very sweet DM at Twitter last night. This was from someone I do not know but she’s quickly becoming a friend! Her message was simple –I found an error in your book..she was reading the free sample….in a nutshell she was being very polite and thoughtful. I replied with a quick thank you and let her know she was not insulting me. I figured one mistake very well could have been missed. Then she sent another, and another, and another….I began to wonder what the heck was going on.

So I pulled up my copy of Laiden’s Daughter on my desktop and did a quick peak.  Oh. My. Goodness!!! She was right on every thing she pointed out.  I did some quick digging and realized I had uploaded the wrong damned copy of Laiden’s Daughter to Amazon!!!! 

Needless to say I was MORTIFIED!! I could not believe I had done that.  What’s worse??? I deleted ALL other copies of Laiden’s Daughter thinking that I didn’t need them. I deleted the perfectly edited, error free version. Who does something that stupid? Apparently I do!

So there I sat. Alone. Crying. Thinking I was a complete and total idiot! With only a ‘bad’ copy of my book to my name. What the hell was I going to do??? It would take hours and hours to go through it again. After wiping my tears and blowing my nose I emailed my editor and explained what had happened.

Thank you sweet Jesus! My editor had saved the final, perfectly edited copy of my book! I love this woman! I owe her more than I can ever begin to repay.

So I’m waiting patiently for Amazon to send me an email to let me know that the new version of Laiden’s Daughter is now ready. I think this wait is far more excruciating that the very first time I uploaded it!

I’ll be contact the KDP people and asking them to send an email to those people who had already purchased the book letting them know that there were errors that have now been fixed. ;o)

So, I’m not perfect and I made a HUGE mistake. I think it’s God’s way of reminding me that I’m not perfect. ;o)

So when you’re having a bad day, just think of this post and hopefully it will lighten your load and you can say, “Well, I’ve done some pretty goofy things, but I’ve never done anything that dumb!” ;o)

Hugs,

Suzan

PS: The very sweet lady that pointed out my errors? She gets a free copy (edited & error free) of my book!

9 comments

  1. I loved “Laiden’s Daughter” and yes, I picked up on the typos, etc. But – it was such a good story and your characters were so well developed, that I quickly overlooked anything else and thoroughly enjoyed it. Things have changed in publishing with avenues like Amazon and other Indie ventures. We just all need to take a breath and give a little, because we now have the opportunity to read so many more new authors that, in the past, would have languished somewhere in a pile of hundreds of manuscripts waiting to be read by editorial assistants. Personally, I think it’s exciting as hell, and if the editing isn’t perfect, so what? That can be corrected.

    Sorry you had that experience. I know how hard it is to make a public mistake. But let it go, if you can. You’re not perfect and shouldn’t try to be (impossible goal.) But you are very talented and writing great stuff! I’m really looking forward to your next book, and BTW, will re-read Laiden’s as a prelude.

    As a new writer still hiding in my loft keeping it all to myself, I really admire your courage in putting yourself out there. Hang in – you definitely have what it takes.

  2. lol…I’ve been laughing about it for a couple of hours now…I did my crying this morning. lol I am perfectly content in my imperfections! ;o) My husband loves me, quirks, goofiness, faults and all. ;o) My kids love me. My mother thinks I’m perfect, lol. So all is good! ;o)

    Thank you for your kind words! They mean a lot. ;o)

    Hugs,
    Suzan

  3. When the new version is uploaded to Amazon will the people who have already bought your book get it automatically, or do you have to contact each one individually?

  4. Bummer! I hate it when I do stuff like that. But, yes, you’re right, God uses these experiences to keep us from getting too prideful!
    Sounds like all will be well; glad it’s working out for you and your affected readers.
    Glad you’re laughing now : )

  5. I never throw away anything I’ve written. I save all drafts and archive them. Sometimes it helps to dust them off and remind myself how much I’ve improved. Would you believe I still have original scribblings from childhood? My parents didn’t save them. I did.

  6. I usually NEVER throw anything away. My mistake was saving multiple copies with similar yet different names. lol. This will be one mistake I never repeat, I guarantee that. I think its cool you still have stuff from your childhood! (Are you a hoarder? lol)

    Thanks Carl!

  7. Oh, ouch! This almost hurts to read because we’ve all done dumb stuff like this. I’m terrified I will do something equally dumb with my writing someday.

    Hang in there. You’re only human.

Leave a Reply

